Enter a world filled with lush greenery and rich history at the Upper Seletar Reservoir Park. With 15 hectares of natural vegetation, the park is teeming with flora and fauna, making it a favourite spot for nature lovers.
Put on your running gear and go for a heart-pumping, invigorating jog around the park. Alternatively, take a leisurely stroll and admire the serenity of the reservoir and the majesty of the park’s iconic rocket-shaped tower. For the more adventurous, climb up to the top of the tower and be rewarded with stunning panoramic views of the waters and adjacent greenery.
Visitors can also trek along the park’s many trails or go on a nature walk and discover the park’s inhabitants. Nature lovers will be thrilled at the sight of the resident long-tailed macaques, but are cautioned not to expose food or drinks in their presence as they might bite.
The Seletar Reservoir was built in 1920 and officially opened by Her Royal Highness, Princess Alexandra, The Honourable Lady Ogilvy on 10 August 1969. In 1992, it was renamed as the Upper Seletar Reservoir and became a marked historic site in 1999.
Today, the Upper Seletar Reservoir is one of the four reservoirs that bound the nature reserves. The other reservoirs that bound the nature reserves are the MacRitchie Reservoir, the Lower Peirce Reservoir, and the Upper Peirce Reservoir.