For all notifications, please visit our noticeboard.
Button to close the announcement bar

Community in Nature Schools Awards

The Community in Nature (CIN) initiative was launched in September 2011 to connect and engage communities in conserving Singapore’s natural heritage. Recognising that educational institutions are important community stakeholders in biodiversity conservation, CIN started reaching out to schools in 2014. Since then, the programmes have diversified to meet the needs of various educational levels, from pre-schools to junior colleges. The CIN schools outreach efforts have now come to maturity, where many of the participating institutions have become increasingly competent in the area of biodiversity conservation.

The Community in Nature (CIN) Schools Award is a new recognition scheme to acknowledge, appreciate and celebrate the works of our schools, as well as to motivate educators and students to contribute to local biodiversity conservation efforts. It aims to:

  • Recognise proactive partners from various educational institutions that have participated in the different CIN programmes since year 2014.
  • Encourage stakeholders from the education sector to take on a more active role to conserve our biodiversity.
  • Provide a networking platform for schools to share and exchange biodiversity-related knowledge and experiences.


CIN Schools Awards 2020

The nomination period for this inaugural award was from December 2019 to April 2020. A total of 44 submissions were received, ranging from habitat enhancement, bringing nature into the school curriculum, to nurturing future leaders through involvement in various biodiversity conservation efforts. 25 nominations were awarded.

Check out the list of winners and their achievements here: 


CIN Schools Awards 2020 Winners

Below is the list of winners under each category. You may click on the school’s name to view their poster.


School Category

Students planting native ferns in their school's Eco Garden

Photo credit: West Wood Primary School

Students observing flora and fauna in their neighbourhood

Photo credit: PCF Sparkletots

School of the Year


PCF Sparkletots @ Marsiling Blk 32
Primary Schools / Special Education MINDS Woodlands Gardens School
Telok Kurau Primary School
Secondary Schools / Junior Colleges Commonwealth Secondary School

Merit Award


1. Cherie Hearts @ Charlton

2. Skool4Kidz Campus @ Sengkang Riverside Park

Primary Schools / Special Education

1. Anderson Primary School

2. Canberra Primary School

3. Hougang Primary School

4. Mee Toh School

5. Westwood Primary School

Secondary Schools / Junior Colleges

1. Bukit View Secondary School

2. Nanyang Girls High School

3. Yuvabarathi International School

Teacher Category

Mr Jacob Tan conducting a lesson in our nature reserve

Photo credit: Commonwealth Secondary School

Mr Tan Chong Han coaching students during a nature walk in the school garden

Photo credit: Bukit View Secondary School

Teacher of the Year

Primary Schools / Special Education

Mrs Chen Soon Shan

(Queenstown Primary School)

Secondary Schools / Junior Colleges

Mr Tan Guan Rui Jacob

(Commonwealth Secondary School)

Merit Award


Mrs Michelle Teo Puay Hoon

(PCF Sparkletots @ Sengkang Central, Blk 277B)

Primary Schools / Special Education

Mdm Sim Lu Ping Lina

(St. Anthony’s Primary School)

Secondary Schools / Junior Colleges

1. Mr Tan Chong Han

(Bukit View Secondary School)


2. Mr Benny Koh Chin Seah

(Nanyang Girls’ High School)


3. Ms Susmita Bhattacharyya

(Yuvabarathi International School)

Student Category

A group of students leading the public on a nature walk at Rail Corridor

Photo credit: Hwa Chong Institution

Students performing on stage during Festival of Biodiversity 2019

Photo credit: NParks

Student of the Year

Secondary Schools / Junior Colleges

Hwa Chong Institution

  • Quek Chui Ching
  • Wang Yi En
  • Tan Teong Seng
  • Chang Yu Xin
  • Dawn Lee Yi Xin

Merit Award

Primary Schools / Special Education

1. Canberra Primary School

  • CIN Ambassadors
Secondary Schools / Junior Colleges

1. Commonwealth Secondary School

  • Thahmina Begum D/O Maideen Abdul Kader
  • Marissa Nariesta Dessara Binte Salim


2. Dunman High School

  • Sim Li Xuan
  • Chan Xin Tong
  • Chen Zhi Ruo
  • Li Shuyan
  • Hnin Ei Wut Yee


For more information on the achievements, please download the CIN Schools Award 2020 booklet below. 




Last updated on 10 November 2020

Share this page